Anna Brown, injustice of the system

I came across this tragic story on Clutch Magazine earlier today. http://www.clutchmagonline.com/2012/03/anna-browns-death-reminds-us-why-everyone-needs-health-coverage/

I am not a stranger to reading/hearing/listening about tragic stories and news. I read heavily about world events, so from the news, documentaries and so forth I have read about great human suffering and it’s my main reason why I seek a path that puts me in a powerful position to correct the wrongs against the poor and do my part in this life to help the afflicted, weak and vulnerable. When I read this story earlier about this young woman that was dealt a cruel fate I couldn’t stop crying. I am still crying. I will be haunted for a long time by her unfortunate story and I never want to forget her story. I want to carry her story with me as I carry many other stories so that I may never have a cold heart that doesn’t feel, a heart with no empathy towards the human condition.

The world can be such a cruel place. I can’t but loathe our society where something like this can happen. I can’t help but hate the system that saw a mother living in horrid conditions, but instead of helping her get back on her feet and giving her hope, saw it was more correct, more right to take away perhaps the only hope in her life, her children.

I don’t wish to be judgmental, but I wonder what happened to family. The victim had 9 siblings and a mother, neighbors and perhaps friends. Often times people come out of the woodwork when it’s too late and how unfortunate that is. And what an unfortunate end to be suffering and rather than receive medical treatment, to be dragged off to jail to die. I wonder about the hearts of all those who watched, agreed to and dragged her off as she cried out in pain. I can only imagine in their hearts they removed her humanity and saw her as a homeless druggie. How else can one watch another being dwell in pain and suffering? Only when in their hearts is emptied of empathy.

The young lady was thought to be on drugs and refusing to leave the hospital because she was homeless, which was untrue as the autopsy revealed no drugs in her system and she died from blood clotting in her legs. The hospital claims they did all the right tests and I do not know all the details except what I have read, but I know in my gut that being a poor, homeless, black woman certainly played a significant role in the quality of care she received. Unfortunately we live in a world where the life of a poor person is not as important and the efforts even from those who have sworn an oath to protect the wellbeing of all human beings will not be equal. I can only pray for Anna Brown and hope her children have a bright future. May God rest her soul.

More on Anna Brown’s story: http://www.stltoday.com/news/local/crime-and-courts/woman-unhappy-with-care-at-st-mary-s-hospital-is/article_ed640f3d-64a0-516c-88ff-fb770b5e9677.html#ixzz1qXAUb9xv

2 Responses to Anna Brown, injustice of the system

  1. Jamila says:

    Just watching that video is almost unbearable. They way that the officers left her on the floor of the jail while she was gasping for air is incredible–it’s hard to imagine why the officer’s didn’t have enough sense to say that she needs to go back to the hospital if she is in this much pain and distress.

    Although I know it won’t bring Anna back, I hope the family is able to get a generous settlement for this young woman’s tragic death.

  2. Guulo says:

    The only logical explanation to me is because they removed her humanity (aka sameness) to themselves, if that was a family member or someone they could identify with I can’t imagine them do what they did-throwing her on the cold floor and leaving her to die. When we fail to see the humanity in others and rather see labels wrapped up in our biased assumptions then terrible things happen that even people that are not evil hearted are capable of acting inhumanly once their empathy is gone. It’s heartbreaking to watch and listen to her screams. I can only hope those behind her tragic death are held liable, I can’t help but feel pessimistic about it though.

Leave a Reply

