Women Who Refuse to Die-Al Jazeera Documentary on the The Srebrenica massacre 1995

“When they took away my children in 1995, they also killed me – in the most brutal manner. This is not life …. I had my family and in just one day I’m left without them, without knowing why. And every morning I ask myself why, but there is no answer. My children were only guilty of having the names they had and their names were different from their killers. It was not only my children killed on July 11, 1995; thousands of other innocent children were murdered in the bloody genocide in Srebrenica …. I no longer have anything to lose; the criminals killed all I had, except for my pride.”

Hatidza Mehmedovic

2 Responses to Women Who Refuse to Die-Al Jazeera Documentary on the The Srebrenica massacre 1995

  1. Jamila says:

    I heard about this massacre on the news today. The general who was in charge at the time was on the run for 16 years and they finally caught him. Now that they have him on trial at the Hague here’s to hoping that the trial will give the victims a bit of justice for their loss, even though they will obviously never be whole now that their children and other family members are gone.

    • Guulo says:

      Good to see you Jamila. Thank you for commenting. The sad thing is, humanity never learns from these tragic affairs and new massacres happen. I don’t know, leaves me speechless to think about the cruelty people have inflicted on others. I haven’t been following the trials and not so sure if I believe in the “justice” carried at international courts.

Leave a Reply

